5à7 Podcast, Ep. 10: Globe & Mail Vancouver Restaurant Critic Alexandra Gill, Part 1

Host Amie Watson chats with Alexandra Gill about how she’s been writing about and reviewing restaurants in recently reopened Vancouver. They also chat farmers, supply chains and what percentage of Canadian restaurants she expects will make it through Covid. They…

5à7 Podcast, Ep. 10: Globe & Mail Vancouver Restaurant Critic Alexandra Gill, Part 1

Source

Host Amie Watson chats with Alexandra Gill about how she’s been writing about and reviewing restaurants in recently reopened Vancouver. They also chat farmers, supply chains and what percentage of Canadian restaurants she expects will make it through Covid. They also chat about unexpected upsides, like increased elbow space.

The 5à7 Podcast is a series of happy hour conversations with cool people. They’re based around food, but guests go beyond chefs and restaurant owners to artists, entrepreneurs and other inspiring people you might have heard of.

SUBSCRIBE Video: iTunes | Vimeo Audio: Stitcher | Spotify

Here’s everything we mentioned on the podcast (mostly in the order we mentioned them):

Alex’s column at the Globe & Mail: https://www.theglobeandmail.com/authors/alexandra-gill/

Alex’s wine: Howling Bluff Sauvignon Blanc
https://www.howlingbluff.ca/wines.php

Amie’s wine: Cellar Carlania Sant Pere d’Ambigats, imported by Origines Vins in Montreal
About the wine https://www.rawwine.com/wine/sant-pere-dambigats/

Veronique Rivest, sommelier and wine writer: https://veroniquerivest.ca/?page_id=609&lang=en

Bar Chickadee: https://www.barchickadee.com/

St. Lawrence restaurant: https://www.stlawrencerestaurant.com/

Canada’s 100 Best Restaurants 2020: https://canadas100best.com/best-restaurants-2020-ranking/

Kissa Tanto: http://www.kissatanto.com/

Restaurants Canada closure stats and expectations: https://www.restaurantscanada.org/industry-news/many-of-british-columbias-restaurants-wont-recover-from-covid-19-without-rent-relief/

Nook restaurant: http://nookrestaurant.ca/

New restaurant opening in Vancouver called The Lunch Lady: https://www.theglobeandmail.com/canada/british-columbia/article-soups-on-vancouver-lunch-lady-set-to-open-doors-july-1/

Canada’s 50 Best Bars 2020: https://www.theglobeandmail.com/canada/british-columbia/article-soups-on-vancouver-lunch-lady-set-to-open-doors-july-1/

Lobby Lounge at the Fairmont Pacific Rim: https://canadas100best.com/best-bars-2020-lobby-lounge/
And https://www.lobbyloungerawbar.com/

Alex Gill’s food tours: Dine Like a Critic
https://www.dinelikeacritic.com/

Alex on social media:
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dinelikeacritic/?hl=en
Dine Like a Critic Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dinelikeacritic/?hl=en

Elisa Steakhouse’s truffle-stuffed chicken: https://tt2u.xdineapp.com/#menu/1385/TopTable%202%20U/5529/TT2U%20MENU

Tallulah (artist behind the photo of geisha eating fish): http://www.tallulahphoto.com/

Photo credit: Leila Kwok